Dubai Award for Sustainable Transport 2021 finds its winners

Under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai and Chairman of Dubai Executive Council, His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Chairman of Dubai Media Council, honoured the winners of the 12th edition of Dubai Award for Sustainable Transport 2021 (DAST). Established by the Dubai Roads and Transport Authority (RTA), the award aims to encourage the public and private sectors to adopt sustainable solutions that can reduce congestion, preserve the environment and improve travel safety.

His Highness Sheikh Ahmed, accompanied by His Highness Mattar Al Tayer, awarded the winners in the various categories of the award. This year, the total number of entries reached 140, spread across five main and seven special categories. In the mobility management category, first place went to the Transport Authority – Government of Ajman for its ‘Bus on Demand’ service, while second place went to Tramway Rabat-Salé for its tram line in Rabat City. Third place was shared by the Greater Amman Municipality for the Amman Bus Service and DP World for the development of a real-time system at the site.

In the Transport Security category, the Municipality of Dubai took first place for the Mobility Safety and Security Sustainability project for its fleet of vehicles. Second place went to Tatweer Educational Transportation Services Company in Saudi Arabia for an initiative aimed at improving the safety and security of educational transportation. Abu Dhabi Integrated Transport Centre came third for its initiative to reduce the number of accidents resulting from leaving insufficient safe distance between successive vehicles.

In the environmental protection category, Sheikh Ahmed awarded DP World for its initiative to convert fuel-powered trucks to battery-powered trucks. Etihad Rail took second place for its environmental sustainability projects initiative, while Emirates National Oil Company (ENOC) won third place for its future refuelling station initiative.

In the disability transport category, KGL Private Passenger Transport Services won first place for its initiative to provide free travel for people with disabilities, the elderly and children under 10, as well as for providing facilities for people with disabilities on buses. Mwasalat Misr took second place for providing people with disabilities with discounts on bus fares. The Dubai Public Prosecutor’s Office took third place for its initiative to address the mobility and accessibility needs of people with disabilities.

In the Sustainable Transport Pioneer City category, the Municipality of Greater Amman won first place with a model document that reflects the various elements that make Amman a sustainable transport pioneer city.

In the Special Awards category, His Highness Sheikh Ahmed awarded Maitha Almheiri, Yara M. Tillawi and Sarah Numan from Sharjah University for the best student project/study on sustainable transport. The research proposed scientific and realistic solutions to mitigate the environmental impact of maritime transport in Dubai. In the same category, Shammah Ali Alsuwaidi and Fatima Butti Alsuwaidi from the University of Sharjah came second for their developed research on generating energy from vehicle traffic for street lighting. Mohamed Qais Alkatheeri, Abdalla Bader Ali Alyassi, Abdulla Fahad Alkaabi of the Sharjah Graduate School of Applied Technology took third place for their research on facilitating the movement of ‘People of Determination’.

In the Best Academic Project/Research category, first place went to Khaled Hamad and Lubna Obaid of the University of Sharjah. Second place went to Zeeshan Hameed of Fujairah Higher College of Technology and third place to Juliette Martinez of Middlesex University Dubai.

At the awards ceremony, Etihad Rail was recognised for winning the Best Sustainability Partner category. The Best Sustainability Contractor category was won by Acciona for its role in the Dubai Metro Route 2020 project, while the Best Sustainability Consultant award went to Parsons Systra.

The Best Journalist award went to Manal Ibrahim Mohammed of the Dubai Police Media Safety Department, who won for her role in raising awareness of road safety principles and the Dubai Sustainable Transport Award.

Follow our Telegram Chanel